Skip to Main Content

We Are...North Hills!

North Hills High School


We Are...North Hills!

North Hills High School

We Are...North Hills!

North Hills High School

We Are...North Hills!

North Hills High School

Announcements and Important Events


Posted 2.0 years ago @ 1:44PM

2022 Sports Hall of Fame inductees announced



The 2022 inductees into the North Sports Hall of Fame were announced at the NHSD Board of Education meeting on Thursday, June 9.

Congratulations to the following former student-athletes:

Shawn Gaertner, Class of 1982 – Football/Community Supporter (posthumous)

Shawn Gaertner participated in football at North Hills. He was the captain and quarterback for the first North Hills team to ever appear in a WPIAL championship game. Shawn was a leader on and off the field. His thoughtfulness had an impact on many, including his teammates, co-workers, family and friends. When Shawn passed away, his family and friends came together to form the Shawn Gaertner Foundation. Shawn’s legacy through the foundation supports scholarships and donations for the North Hills School District and community.

Brad Hanes, Class of 1984 – Tennis

Brad Hanes was an accomplished tennis player at North Hills. He won the WPIAL boys doubles championship in 1981 and 1983 and also finished second in mixed doubles in both the WPIAL and the PIAA tournaments. As a senior, Brad played singles and made it to the WPIAL championship and placed fourth at the PIAA state competition. Mr. Hanes continued playing Tennis at Indiana University of Pennsylvania where he finished second in the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference tournament twice in singles and twice in doubles. He was ranked among the top 50 singles players in the country in NCAA Division II and finished his career with a 51-8 record in singles matches. Mr. Hanes is also a member of the class of 2017 IUP Sports Hall of Fame.

Duane Hitchcock, Class of 1989 – Football

Duane Hitchcock participated in football at North Hills. Duane was a junior running back and the leading rusher on the 1987 North Hills football team which was No. 1 in the country. He received all-conference and all-state awards and was selected to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Fabulous 22 football team. Mr. Hitchcock went onto Slippery Rock University where he played both running back and wide receiver. He rushed 127 times for over 600 yards.

Mary Malone, Class of 2014 – Cross Country and Track & Field

Mary Malone was a two-sport athlete participating in cross country and track and field. She won nine WPIAL medals in cross country and track, including a gold and two silvers. Ms. Malone also won three PIAA state medals and three PTFCA state medals. Mary’s times in the 1600, 3200 and 3200 relay rank among the best in WPIAL history. She received a scholarship to Syracuse University. While running in college, she captained nationally-ranked cross country teams, earned All-Region honors and competed at the NCAA Championship meet. Mary was the recipient of the Syracuse Courage Award in 2019.

Nick Smith, Class of 2017 – Basketball

Nick Smith participated in basketball at North Hills. He was a two-time selection to the Post-Gazette Fabulous Five, holds North Hills High Schools records for most career points scored (1,776) and most points scored in a single game (44). Nick led North Hills to three consecutive WPIAL semifinal appearances and the first WPIAL championship appearance in school history in 2016. Nick was the WPIAL Class 6A player of the year in 2017. He received a scholarship to Nova Southeastern University, a Division II school in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, where he had a remarkable basketball career. He was a four-year starter and received the university’s “Golden Shark Award,” which is given to one male and one female athlete from all sports who displayed the most dominant presence within competition and is one of NSU’s premiere athletes.

The 2022 induction ceremony will be held on Thursday, September 8 at Rico’s Restaurant. The inductees will also be recognized prior to the North Hills varsity football game vs. Gateway on Friday, September 9 at Martorelli Stadium.

This year’s inductees were selected during the annual Sports Hall of Fame meeting on May 3. In attendance were Dennis Watson, Cheryl Zangaro, Dan Cardone, Jack McCurry, Scott Winkler, Pat Carey, Frank Sylvester, Pat Weber, Hank Marziale, Tom Baier, Mike White, Mark Chutko and Chelle Zimmerman.

View all Announcements & Events